skip to main content
Site banner


Brian Van was rewarded for his academic efforts by being announced as dux in the 2019 Ōtaki College senior prize-giving awards on October 31.

Brian will be studying for a bachelor of engineering with honours at Wellington’s Victoria University next year. His list of first-in-class in 2019 included calculus, chemistry, physics and statistics.

Brian also received the Ōtaki Memorial RSA award, Andrew Phillips Cup for dux, the M I

Turnbull award for top boy in Year 13 and a

Victoria University scholarship. He is an international student from Vietnam who joined Ōtaki College as a Year 10 student in 2016.

Days after achieving dux, Brian received a WellingtonNZ award at Parliament for academic excellence as an international student.

William Tam was runner-up to dux. In 2020 William will begin study for a bachelor of commerce at Auckland University. William was the inaugural winner of the Wakefield Group Ltd scholarship for Proxime Accessit and was also awarded an Ōtaki Women’s Community Club scholarship to assist with his studies.

The 2019 Sander Scholar, who travels to Scotland in January 2020 to visit Robert Gordon’s

College in Aberdeen, is head girl Lauren Blakeley. On her return from Scotland Lauren will be studying for a bachelor of teaching in primary education at Otago University. Lauren also  received the Chairperson’s All Round Excellence Cup. Lauren was awarded scholarships from Concrete Doctors, Fun Zone Group Ltd and the XŌtaki College Alumni Trust.

The 2019 Sportsperson of the Year was Damien Doyle (see back page).

Top Girl in Year 13 was Emily Int-Veen. Emily is an international student who plans to return to Germany next year to begin her university studies. In Year 12, Karen Su was top girl and Jacob Gates was top boy. Hala Graham was top girl in Year 11 and Paikea Bai-Te Kira was top boy.

The other much-anticipated announcement made at senior prize-giving is the heads of school team for 2020.

Next year’s head girl was announced as Kahe Nakhla, with head boy Jacob Gates. Deputy head girl will be Emily Georgetti and deputy head boy is Damien Doyle. Associate heads of school are Claryce Cutler, Morgan Gould, Alex Lundie, Maddy McAlpine, Keegan Ryan, Karen Su, Jacob Walker and Kiri Winiata-Enoka.

Principal Andy Fraser said he was proud of his students and appreciated the support that helped students on their journey.

“Many local organisations, businesses and individuals sponsor scholarships and awards for our senior prize-giving,” Andy said. “These awards provide acknowledgement and support for our students as they step out onto their future pathways. That’s very much appreciated by the students and the college.

“We congratulate the graduating class of 2019 and wish all students sitting external examinations every success.”

Brian Ōtaki College dux for 2019



+ Text Size -